VAN BUREN COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

WORK SESSION

MARCH 4, 2015

The Joint Work Session of the Van Buren Community School Board of Directors and the Harmony School District Board of Directors came to order March 4, 2015 at 7:04 PM at the Roberts Memorial Building, Keosauqua, IA. Members present were President Bob Steingreaber, Vice-President Kara McEntee, Director Sheila Parsons, Director Andrew Lydolph, Director Rick Plowman, Director Stan Whitten, Director Cindy Lowe, and Superintendent Dr. Pam Ewell. IASB representative Harry Heiligenthal also attended.

Motion by Director Whitten, second by Director McEntee to approve the agenda. Ayes 6, Nays 0, motion carried.

The two boards presented information to the public regarding whole grade sharing. This included general information explaining whole grade sharing and responses from both boards regarding the following questions:

- 1. Why are we considering sharing?
- 2. What do we hope to accomplish through sharing?
- 3. What questions do we have?
- 4. What key information do we need to be able to make a decision about sharing?
- 5. What do you believe successful sharing would look like between our districts?
- 6. What are the next key steps and who will be responsible for accomplishing them?
- 7. What other questions should we be asking?

Harry Heiligenthal helped facilitate the meeting asking for board and public input.

Motion by Director McEntee, second by Director Lowe to adjourn. Ayes 6, Nays 0, motion carried and the meeting adjourned at 9:03 PM.

By Mindy Smith, District Office Secretary

Dennis Gourley, School Business Official/Board Secretary

Reports and documents and the full text of motions, resolutions, and policies considered by the Board at this meeting are on file in the Board Secretary's Office, 293-3334, Monday through Friday, 8:00 A.M. - 4:00 P.M.